Skip to content

The Speckled Skirt

May 31, 2012
by

This pattern is definitely a good pallet cleanser after finishing such a big project as the wedding dress, pretty sure it only took an hour or so to sew.

Pattern: M5811, which is out of print but it’s just a circle skirt with a waist band (because I’m too lazy to draft my own like some people).

Pattern Description: Circular skirts A, B, below mid-knee, have side zipper; skirt A has contrast lower band, purchased trim; skirt B has stitched narrow hem. I actually made view A but without the contrast band because I’m short and that hits me right at the knee.

Pattern Sizing: 4-12, I made a 10

Fabric Used: Printed rayon challis, reminds me of stars

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, only one page! But I had made this pattern before so I really only glanced at it.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s easy and cute, I especially like that the skirt is cute whether my top is tucked in or not (depending on the top style).

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made it shorter by not using the lower contrast band and just using a narrow hem (which is not even at all, but I don’t care). I also tried out some special waistband interfacing that I randomly had in my stuff, but it was a little too wide and didn’t seem to fuse very well to my fabric. Oh well, once I enclosed it in the fabric it worked fine.

Would you sew it again? I can’t say no, seeing as how this is my second time with it. But I can’t tell you when ’cause I like to make it when I have some awesome graphic print that I can’t make my mind up about (I actually went back to the store and bought more of this fabric because I didn’t want to mess up and I liked it so much… so expect to see a top made from it this summer some time)

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, circle skirts of all kinds are awesome. I need to try a half circle skirt sometime.

~Molly

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2012 1:23 pm

    Yay for a circle skirt! I’m too lazy to draft anything, either, even if it is as simple as a circle skirt with a waistband. if someone’s done the work already, why duplicate it?

  2. May 31, 2012 2:12 pm

    Super pretty! I was convinced that circle skirts are not for me, but I just made a dress with one and love it. Fun skirt.

  3. June 3, 2012 12:46 am

    I do need a circle skirt and I can see why you went back to get more of the fabric. :o))

Trackbacks

  1. Jeans Skirt re-sizing « Sewing Adventures In The Attick
  2. A Speckled Top « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

