Skip to content

The Ice Top

May 17, 2012
by

It is very rare that I ever get around to sewing for the current season in time. I make plenty of plans and decide what I’m missing, like this winter I realized I needed more long sleeve tshirts, but I never end up being able to sewing everything soon enough. So here it is, May, 80+ degrees F outside and I’m sewing long sleeve tops (and finishing that wedding dress too…). If this discussion sounds familiar you might recognize the same trend from last summer when I was sewing a winter coat, or earlier this year when I was sewing shorts as it snowed outside.

This does not bother me. I do still want/need the items I make, thank goodness my taste doesn’t change as fast as “trends” go in and out of style and that here in the center of the country we’re slow with the uptake.

Pattern: NL “Workroom” 6071 (from the Project Runway line, it feels weird to me that both New Look and Simplicity have Project Runway lines now and neither are actually based on designs from Project Runway)

Pattern Description: Workroom from Project Runway, misses’ knit dress or top. New Look sewing pattern. (They are so good with their descriptions aren’t they…)

Pattern Sizing: 8-18, I made a 10 but I took the sides in so I probably could have made the 8.

Fabric Used: Super cheap poly knit of some sort that is extra stretchy. It’s hard to tell how comfortable the fabric is right now because I can’t stand to wear the darn thing for more than 20 minutes right now, too hot.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, pretty much exactly

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, I had to stop and reread the instructions for the front twist thing but it’s pretty straight forward.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The neckline is pretty low, but the twisty gathery part works like magic and doesn’t gape open even when I bend over so I don’t think that will be too much of a problem. Other than having to take the sides in I don’t see any fit problems at the moment, but something could show up as I actually wear it… in about 6 months.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Only to take the sides and sleeves in, and cut off a couple inches from the bottom

Would you sew it again? Probably not, or at least not for a while.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, very flattering I think.

~Molly

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2012 7:06 am

    You have made a great job of this! It is very flattering on you too! Awesome!

  2. May 17, 2012 7:33 am

    I love this shape on you- very flattering. I have a simplicity I’m trying to finish and I love the top, hate the bottom- I think you’ve just convinced me to hem it alot shorter than a dress!

  3. May 17, 2012 7:35 am

    Looks great!

  4. May 17, 2012 7:38 am

    That’s a great cross-top! I’m more inspired by your version than by the pattern cover.

  5. May 17, 2012 8:30 am

    It’s lovely, Molly! I love the front bodice draping. And not changing your taste according to style dictators is the way to go. I echo Donna – your version actually makes me think twice about this pattern (which I initially had passed over).

  6. May 17, 2012 8:45 am

    I love the twist at the front! It IS very flattering. I’d like a shirt like this, so maybe once I become more comfortable using patterns in things I’m making for my son I’ll give this one a try. You did a great job! Oh, and the action shot of the model on the pattern cover running in those heels?! That’s just funny.

  7. May 17, 2012 12:01 pm

    Great top – I really like twist front tops/dresses but haven’t yet found a pattern that works for me. I think I’ll have to add this pattern to my wish list. It’s not that strange that New Look have Project Runway patterns as New Look is simply the European arm of Simplicity (IIRC).

  8. May 17, 2012 2:30 pm

    Wow, I didn’t look twice at that dress/top pattern, but now that I see it on you, I think I may have to get it. It looks awesome on you.

  9. May 17, 2012 5:27 pm

    This looks really cool. Unfortunately I’ve sworn off of NL due to the awful drafting/ fit/ sizing on their 6097 workroom/ project runway pattern. Even after removing 2 inches off the front and sides the fit is just bad bad bad (nothing like the pattern envelope-run away!). I still plan on making the 6000 dress one day (just as soon as I can look at an NL pattern without rabidly shredding it to bits XP).

Trackbacks

  1. 2012 “Making” Statistics « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

