Skip to content

And now for something slightly different

April 29, 2012
by

So this is a little bit about dolls and slightly more about photography.  Bia has always been pretty into photography, she sent me this link because I’ve been into dolls recently (have you noticed?).

This is definitely the funniest picture, she looks so pissed! Must have something to do with the fact that her doll is in a wheel chair, and has a cast on it's leg AND arm.

I’m posting this because two things came to my mind when looking at the picture:

  1. Why are none of the girls smiling?
  2. The description says the dolls were “customized” to look like their owners, but they definitely weren’t, the dolls are just wearing matching outfits and have the same hair color. Half the dolls don’t even have the same hair cut as their owners, how is that “customizing”?
  3. (ok, maybe three things) Maybe the girls aren’t smiling because they were forced to dress in matching outfits with their dolls… I don’t think I ever wanted to do that.

Later I came across a New York Times blog post about these pictures and the photographer Ilona Szwarc. They still seem really staged and meaning less to me, probably even more so after reading the article, because she makes Americans seem so self centered (she’s Polish born). I’m not saying some American’s aren’t, but every country has those people, I just think little girls like these dolls because they are fun. Duh, what more is there to think about it?

Maybe I just don’t get the “art” aspect.

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2012 8:54 am

    Those photos are definitely strange – I’m guessing the photographer wanted “edgy” or something and missed by a mile – getting “miserable” instead. I liked the horse picture though.

  2. April 29, 2012 9:24 am

    I checked out the link and I see what you mean. I don’t get it either. :)

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

