Skip to content

Mexican roller derby and other things to talk about with your rabbi.

April 22, 2012
by
Being outdoorsy.

So Molly has been requesting that I write this post for some time now, this topic is kindof my specialty. But there are two very good reasons for why I have put it off for so long:

  1. My computer, Pablo Poseidon, is having problems as of late. Suffice to say, I hate computers.
  2. I play rugby now? And this takes up a significant amount of time, mostly because I don’t know anything about rugby and therefore have to learn. And it makes me really really tired and sore.

Sometimes reason #2 hurts... This bruise actually got a lot more impressive as the days went on.

When I was in elementary school, my parents were weirdly strict about me always wearing tennis shoes to school. Never sandals, oh no. Probably because at recess I would always play soccer on the “soccer field” (it was a gravel lot) and I usually got scraped up a bit. Anyways, I remember one day towards the end of the year I begged and begged and finally they let me wear sandals… with socks. That was the condition. And thus I blame them for my habit of wearing my myriad wonderful socks with my trusty Birkenstocks.

My everyday Birkenstocks. Mine are actually cooler, with weavy stuff on them, but i couldn't find a picture of that specifically on the internet. But there will be pictures further down to show them.

I also have "formal Birkenstocks" for special occasions. I would wear them more, but they stain the bottoms of my feet and it is very hard to wash off... Molly says I can wear these to her wedding muahahahaha!

I have a large collection of socks. This is remarkable for me to say, that I own a lot of any article of clothing. I now know just how little clothes I own, comparing my scant closet to those of my friends in the dorms. Socks are different. I have an enormous drawstring bag which accommodates my socks. They haven’t been paired up or “matching” since I started doing my own laundry, I just reach blindly in and out comes greatness. People think I’m joking when I say I like socks, or at least don’t take me seriously enough. Then I show them the bag. It’s actually somewhat concerning to people. And by “people” I mean my mother. She frowns upon the acquisition of any more socks. She also keeps wanting me to throw away the ones with holes. Okay, so some of them don’t technically have a bottom because they’re so worn out, but they still served their purpose! I hide those ones now, they’re just too good to be thrown out…

My bag of socks. How wonderful it is.

A few of my best. Find the pear.

So now we’ve come to the best part. Ah, socks. Once in a while, Google profiles my interests correctly and gives me an ad that actually interests me (although the Peruvian flute music ads were amusing…). That’s how I discovered arguably the best sock-selling company out there: LittleMissMatched. You may recall that Molly has mentioned this company before, they also have a line of dolls. I think she got a blonde one, whom we named Leone. LMM has recently gone down in my esteem because they’ve shifted their focus to clothes and other lame stuff (their socks are actually kindof expensive in my opinion, too). And then, after reading the excerpts of an interview that Molly highlighted in that same post, I was further disillusioned by the company founders’ ironic attitude towards the inception of their sock line:

LittleMissMatched launched as a company in 2004, and began by selling bright and colorful, unmatched socks in wildly fun, mismatched patterns packaged in odd numbers for young girls and pre-teens. For the company’s founders, Jonah Staw, Arielle Eckstut, and Jason Dorf, it all began as a funny commentary about the mystery of disappearing socks, and the single mismatch it leaves behind. They jokingly concluded that they could solve the problem by wearing socks that didn’t match.

A “funny commentary”??? Luckily they go on to say:

LittleMissMatched started with a very simple mission: build a brand that is FUN, inspires CREATIVITY, embraces individual STYLE and celebrates self EXPRESSION. In our world, socks don’t match– MATCHING is mundane — MIXING is MONUMENTAL and COLOR is cool. While we started with socks sold in odd numbers, we recognized that there’s an entire universe out there who shares our passion for creativity and self expression — socks were just the beginning. From books to bedding, PJ’s to pencil pouches and flip flops to furniture, we say, think “outside the socks” – You can be a kid forever. Be BOLD, FASHION is FUN.

That sounds better, and I sincerely hope that this is LMM’s view, too. Because matching IS mundane. I show who I am by my socks. It’s how I weed out the losers when I meet new people. If they get offended, can’t accept it, or just can’t get over the very divergence from what is “normal” then I know that they will never understand. And while I don’t agree with the whole “outside the socks” thing as they’re talking about it, I do agree that you should strive to be bold and have fun with it. There aren’t many aspects of fashion that I understand, but as a tool for expressing individuality and creativity, I am most certainly on board. Clothes are just things that keep us warm and modest (to varying degrees), it’s what you do to portray yourself to others that we’re really talking about. And my socks accurately portray me to the world. Because I AM a pink sock with hot dogs and pretzels on the left foot and a Rudolph sock on the right, YES, IN APRIL!!!

NEW Matching Socks at LittleMissMatched!

- LittleMissMatched’s idea of an April Fools joke, I was about ready to give up on happiness when I saw this in my inbox.

This ensemble went nicely with my commencement gown, I went out in style.

On a frozen pond. I live dangerously.

Being outdoorsy... and stripey.

Mount Rushmore

No socks, but shows the weather of Colorado well. It had snowed the day before, but it was about 60F that day I think... And yes, I was lazy and didn't want to wear boots.

Why does this picture look so weird?

Zeus in a box. She's so good.

Happy Earth Day.

-PEDRO THE MAGNIFICENT

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2012 10:33 pm

    A few notes:
    Such a good kitten.
    I like your new glasses, very “hipster.”
    Didn’t you take any feet pictures in Russia (where they thought you were even weirder for your socks than we do here)?
    Why is there a tomato in the picture with your sock bag?

    Carry on.

    • Pedro permalink
      April 22, 2012 10:40 pm

      My host mom made me wear closed toe shoes for the duration of my stay. Something about “terrible” and “pneumonia”…
      It is a pear. The dining halls have weird pears. It will be my breakfast tomorrow morning.

      • Bia permalink
        April 25, 2012 4:02 pm

        moms do like their kids to stay warm…

  2. April 23, 2012 12:12 am

    You are so right, what is fashion but to have fun with it? :)

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

