Skip to content

Wednesday Wedding Whale: Extras

April 18, 2012
by

I’m not having flowers for my wedding, so along with cute paper umbrellas I’m making little hair barrettes and pins for bridesmaids/groomsmen/moms/grandmas.  I bought around 5 yards of the lace for my wedding dress so I had lots of options to use it for my veil, and since I have so much of it I’m going to use it for everyone else’s “accessories.” I’m putting a lot effort into doing this, and I feel that they will be really special, so I hope everyone that gets one will also really enjoy that they’re handmade.

Spot was "helping" again, this is the first time I've ever had to lock her out of the sewing room. But once I have her her own piece of tulle, she was content. And she looks so pretty with it tucked in her collar!

Right now it looks like just a big jumble of beads, lace, and scrap booking extras (I wanted to have lots of options so I wasn’t holding back at the store)

just a little peak at my veil

And, like last week, here are some random bits that I thought were interesting:

  • This has nothing to do with sewing but it’s a really interesting look at the density of cities, specifically if the entire population of the world lived in one city then how many states in the U.S. would that city take up if it had the density of Paris or New York.
  • Did you see Karen’s latest Ugly Amnesty? I wonder what other sewing superheros (or villains) are out there? and will my doll army make more enemies…
  • Also, some food for thought (Pedro sent this to me, then she told me Я ЛЮБЛЮ ТЕБЯ!)

~Molly

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2012 10:42 am

    Lovely pearls and lace! I’m sure the wedding party will appreciate having things that you made for them :)

  2. April 18, 2012 11:56 am

    Oh, I can’t wait to see this veil! It looks wonderful!

  3. April 19, 2012 7:31 am

    Your veil looks pretty! And what a nice change from the overdone flower stuffy stuff at weddings. I was married in 1990, and the flowers were the most expensive part of the wedding, barring the photography. I don’t regret my bouquet – about 50 red roses crammed together as closely as possible into an almost-sphere – it was heavy! – but it was a bit of a waste once the day was done! I wonder who was torturing the kitty in Pedro’s link to get that expression?

Trackbacks

  1. My Wedding Dress « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

