Skip to content

A Jumper Dress

March 7, 2012
by

Jumper, like suicidal people on a bridge – no not really, but that is one of the things that comes to mind when I hear the word jumper. I hear in Europe they call dresses like this jumpers, not sure why, and what’s the difference between a jumper and a regular dress? Is it because it’s sleeveless or because it’s meant for layering?

I actually got Mr. Fiance to take pictures when we went out to eat ... with varying success.

I’ve wanted a winter dress for layering for a while because I don’t have many dresses that are appropriate for winter or layering… so I don’t end up wearing dresses as much in the winter (though I do own two pairs of boots now to make dress wearing even easier!). And this one has sweet figure hugging darts that are incredibly comfortable, but a little more difficult to sew.

Pattern: Simplicity 9236 from 1970

Pattern Description: Junior petites’ and misses’ basic dress with detachable collars and tie.

Pattern Sizing: Only size 10 is included, bust 32.5″ and it fit perfectly!

Fabric Used: A loose weave wool blend (because that’s all I can ever get my hands on at Hancocks) and black poly lining.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, I was worried it wouldn’t because shift dresses have a tendency to be looser than the envelope photos imply but this one was spot on. It was those amazing curved side darts that did it, I think I’ll be on the look out for more patterns that use those (like one of the new My Image dress patterns I just got!).

The lighting wasn't so good for pictures but at least you can see the dress mostly. There was no way I was taking my sweater off though, it is definitely not sleeveless weather.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, but I mostly just looked at the drawings and did things my own way because the pattern doesn’t call for a lining.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Well, I like the side darts… if you hadn’t noticed, but I also like how simple the pattern is and I think the neckline could easily be modified for different variations (because not all my long sleeve shirts will look good underneath a v-neck).

I could have taken my own pictures later, but I'm lazy and already had these which get the point across just as good.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I added a lining, but I still used the neck and armhole facings (mostly just because I didn’t think through my order of construction enough and inserted the zipper too soon). I also lopped a good 6-7 inches off the length. Obviously I did not make the detachable collars, that concept just seems weird to me.

Would you sew it again? Yes, I might just put it right back into my queue.

Would you recommend it to others? Well, since it’s an old pattern I doubt many people will find this exact one, so I’m instead going to recommend you all try out curved side darts.

My varying shades of gray!

~Molly

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2012 11:34 am

    Hmm, I still wasn’t sure how you felt about the curved side darts… ;) I always have the same concern with shift dresses; I always cave and just make something with a waist seam in the end. I’ll have to be on the lookout for something with side darts now.

    It looks like a nice comfy cozy dress! Really cute with your pop of blue and those tights.

  2. March 7, 2012 12:36 pm

    Cute dress! I love the last picture – your fabric and tights look great! Nope this is not a jumper in the UK – it’s a dress. I haven’t heard of jumper to describe a dress before. I wonder if they are referring to what we would call a pinafore – something you can put over a blouse.

  3. Pedro permalink
    March 7, 2012 3:12 pm

    If you look really closely, you can see a bear in the background of a couple of these pictures!

  4. March 7, 2012 3:33 pm

    Nice! I was just thinking about a how to find a good shift dress pattern. I like the side darts, too. This could be a really handy pattern. But you didn’t want to make the detachable sailor collar? ;)

  5. March 7, 2012 3:35 pm

    I’ve only ever heard of them being called jumpers by Americans, don’t know about mainland Europe, but in the UK a jumper is a sweater.

    Nice dress. I have a real thing for grey at the moment – all the grey fabrics just leap off the shelves into my arms even though I know it doesn’t really suit me, especially near the face.

  6. March 8, 2012 1:17 am

    I thought jumpers were another word for a top, jersey thingy. You know, warm woolly jumper? Its called a jersey here in NZ (like the cow, yes confusing but there it is) and its short not dress-like. That being said I like your new dress and nice job finding a good fit pattern right out of the envelope… how cool is that!

  7. March 8, 2012 3:20 pm

    That’s weird, I also thought jumper was an Anerican term. I’d never heard it before I started sewing other than to mean a sweater.

    I really like the dress. So simple and versatile!

  8. March 8, 2012 3:25 pm

    ha i thought jumper was an american thing when its being used for a dress/pinafore type garment. To me a jumper is what I think you call a sweater ;-)
    Lovely dress though – cheers for the heads up on the side darts, will investigate!
    oh and thanks for the liebster – i’ve been reading blogs but not getting time to comment/post much on my own

  9. March 14, 2012 6:52 pm

    I love this! The fit does look really nice. Gray is much better than the white on the envelope. But I suppose white could be good for summer. I made the My Image dress with the big side darts (I think they’re French darts?) and was surprised at the nice fit.

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

