Skip to content

The Goldilocks Tshirt

February 3, 2012
by

Too hard, too soft, too hot, too cold… blah blah blah, you get the idea right? Well, this tshirt is too tight in the sleeves.

When making Pedro’s coat, I intentionally bought way more of the lining fabric than I would actually need because it was so freaking awesome. I intended to make myself a tshirt out of it and I did, but because the fabric is a double knit it doesn’t have a ton of stretch to it. Everything else feels great about it, but the sleeves and armcycle are just a little tight.

Also, I'm trying to take my pictures in other locations than that one wall in my sewing room, so here I am in my (new!) windowless (to the outside; it has one really weird window that looks out into some ceiling rafters so I always feel like it's night) office by myself with the door shut. Baby steps. I get embarrassed taking pictures, even around Mr. Fiance!

I can either deal with it and only wear it on really cold days (when I don’t mind to being able to shove the sleeves up to my elbows) or put it in the ‘to fix’ pile where it will probably sit for a couple month because I’m lazy. All I can do to fix it really is to go back and make the sleeve seams as tiny as possible and hope that 3/8 inch is enough to make it more comfortable. But, it is wearable in my opinion. Just kindof hot.

Pattern: Burda Style 103A 7/2011

Pattern Description: None of the translations from the burda sites made sense or were very descriptive of this pattern. It’s just a long sleeve knit shirt with pieced double layered sleeves at the elbow and a rounded v-neck.

Just so you guys know, this is not how Americans dress on holiday (as implied by the American flags in other pictures from this section)

Pattern Sizing: 34-44, I cut a 34

Fabric Used: Houndstooth double knit

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except I didn’t do the sleeve¬†piecing.

"Is anyone coming?"

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn’t follow them because I usually change the order of construction with sleeved items.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It fits very well with no alterations to fit and I like the neckline (“crew” necklines always feel like they’re creepying backward on my shoulders, making it feel like I’m going to choke. Maybe I have weird posture). But as I said before the sleeves are very tight, at this point I’m blaming that on the fabric because I have another cut out in a stretchier knit too.

"No, it's all good"

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I didn’t cut the sleeve in two pieces (but I will be for my next iteration!) and I used the salvage of my fabric to finish all the edges. It has a cool stripe through it.

Would you sew it again? I plan on it, hoping it can become my “go to” t-shirt pattern

Can't even tell there's a seam down the back (insert fist pump)

Would you recommend it to others? Yes! Just maybe not in a double knit.

~Molly

PS – Did you guys like Pedro’s post on Russian style? I’m excited for when she discusses her view points on the strange world of blogging and “hipster” style in Colorado.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2012 7:14 am

    You know, I buy Burda Mag every month and its so typical of me to miss a great pattern. I love the fabric you have used. It looks fabulous on you. Pity the arms are a bit tight, I can see how annoying that might be but maybe more annyoying to unpick a double knit! Thank you for sharing… and encouraging me to go back and look at this issue properly!

    • February 3, 2012 7:31 am

      You know, I was wearing it all day yesterday in my office and I felt totally fine. My office is on the cold side (no thermostat either :( ) I just couldn’t push my sleeves up more than an inch. And you’re right, unpicking that double knit would be pain in the butt.

  2. Pedro permalink
    February 3, 2012 11:11 am

    “No, it’s all good” — weirdo.

  3. February 3, 2012 12:32 pm

    Do you have to cut more seam allowance into it next time? Or is it just the fabric choice?

    • February 3, 2012 5:45 pm

      My next one, that is already cut out, is in a stretchier fabric so we’ll see. but I’m pretty sure it’s just the fabric choice

  4. February 4, 2012 1:57 am

    What great fabric. Looks like the t-shirt came out a really good length too. I guess the sleeve piecing would work in a solid, but definitely not in that print.

    Definitely enjoyed Pedro’s post about Russian style BTW – more please!

  5. February 4, 2012 5:45 pm

    It’s funny- double knit really doesn’t seem to stretch very much. It’s the opposite of what you’d think. I made a top in a black double knit and it seems to have no give at all. It’s wearable, just really snug. I love the houndstooth! And kudos for your back seam.

  6. February 5, 2012 11:34 pm

    I missed that pattern too, so will have another look at it. Its a goodie and the shape and fabric suits you. Perfect for a cold day …. um maybe I’ll do it in a very light stretchy something cos its still pretty balmy here in NZ.

    Yes please Pedro’s post was good.

Trackbacks

  1. The Just Right Tshirt « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

