Skip to content

Faux Beignet

January 19, 2012
by

I actually didn’t mean this skirt to look so much like the Colette Pattern’s Beignet, it just happened. I’ve always liked the style, but had some reservations about how high waisted it would actually be on me.

So anyways, this skirt is mostly the result of me wanting to use this fabric (which I stupidly only bought one yard of, and it was gone when I went back to buy more later). I kept thinking it was heavy weight linen because it’s really stiff, but it’s actually kindof light weight. So something like a tank top might have been better suited, but it’s too late for that now. Another out of season sewing project either way. I’m through sewing my summer queue finally, but I probably won’t be done sewing the winter queue until August… typical.

Pattern: B5649

Pattern Description: A, B, C: Semi-fitted skirts. A: A-line.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Halfway

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, it’s a pretty simple skirt.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the top stitching and front buttons, a very casual look. However the waist band was too small after I’d sewn up the main skirt, somehow that always happens to me, so I ditched it for a different method.

Fabric Used: Linen

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I didn’t add the pockets since I didn’t have enough fabric, in hind sight I could have used a different fabric, but side seam pockets always flip backwards when I put them in skirts. I also didn’t use the waist band. Instead I sewed stay tape (at least I think it’s stay tape, there’s a whole bunch of it in my grandma’s stash) around the waist seam, folded it down and stitched some cotton grosgrain-like stuff behind it (it’s kind of like the stuff you make tote bag handles out of, but really soft, but not shining like real grosgrain either) so it just looks top stitched from the outside.

Stay tape at waist seam, then folded over at the seam line.

The heavier tape used for the waist band. It is super comfortable, whatever it is, and feels really stable.

What the outside of the waist band looks like

I don’t know if this is a real method that I should be using, but it seems to work. We’ll see how it holds up over time.

Would you sew it again? Yes, it would be great in denim.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, but measure the waist band pattern piece before you cut it!

~Molly

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2012 7:13 am

    I love that fabric- such nice texture. Very pretty!

  2. January 19, 2012 1:14 pm

    That looks like stay tape to me, I bough my first roll about a month ago and it’s my new favourite sewing weapon against stretching, I love it.

  3. January 20, 2012 5:16 am

    The heavier one looks like some sort of twill tape. I use twill tape around the top of my skirts to keep them from stretching out. It always makes it feel more secure. Very nice skirt! The fabric looks sort of tweed-y.

  4. January 20, 2012 11:05 am

    I really like your fabric and button choices! I should probably be using stay tape more, but I don’t. Good for you following proper procedures!

  5. January 20, 2012 11:47 am

    That’s unusual fabric. At first glance I thought it was a wool tweed!

  6. January 23, 2012 3:28 am

    That is absolutely gorgeous fabric, and I love your new skirt! I like it a lot better than the beignet!
    We would call that twill tape here :)

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

