Skip to content

Dress Down Dress

January 4, 2012
by

Just another dress that’s been in my stash and project queue for a really long time, and mostly only came about because I wanted to use the pattern and fabric, and they seem to go together fairly well. It’s definitely another summer dress and I think it will be really useful once the weather gets hot again.

Pattern: Butterick 5242

Pattern Description: Dress, above mid-knee or mid-knee, has front pleats, fitted, lined bodice, midriff, flared skirt and above elbow or three-quarter sleeves, narrow hem.

Pattern Sizing: 8-14, I cut a 10 but I think I definitely could have used the 8 instead.

Fabric Used: Interlock of some sort

Time to complete: 4 hours, off and on

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? For the most part

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, and nice and concise. Sometimes I feel like pattern companies go over board on the instruction sheets (maybe that’s just me not caring enough to follow them…) but this time they were to the point.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The pleats are really flattering and for once the pattern doesn’t call for a zipper; zippers in knit dresses are stupid because the knit is supposed to stretch so why do you need a bigger opening! They just get all warped anyways. BUT the neckline is super low, like down to the center fabric of my bra low, so I added a triangle of fabric there cause I hate having to wear tank tops underneath my loose summer clothes.

The fit is also a lot looser than I thought it was going to be. Personally, I’m ok with that since it’s just a dress meant for comfort and keeping cool. But I think anyone making this pattern could go down a size and be totally safe. The shoulders are really wide too.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Like I said before, I added the little triangle of fabric to the front so I wouldn’t have to wear a top underneath. I also put elastic in the shoulder seams, but I should have used stay tape or gone out and bought some lighter weight elastic cause it’s rippling up the seam. Oh well, I don’t care.

I did accidentally cut the sleeves with the stripes going the wrong direction, but I don’t think it’s too noticeable from the front.

Would you sew it again? No, I don’t need two of these. I’ll probably keep the pattern for a while in case I change my mind and want a winter version but I doubt I’ll make another short sleeve one.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I think it would be flattering on anyone as long as you use a really drapy knit because the skirt pleats could go maternity real quick otherwise.

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 7:05 am

    The stripes on the sleeves aren’t going “the wrong way” – it’s a design feature :). Cute dress.

  2. January 5, 2012 12:40 pm

    That is pretty. I was just admiring your sleeve stripe feature when you called it a mistake!

  3. January 10, 2012 11:49 pm

    Hi Molly, I too thought it was cool the sleeve stripes went the other way. Love those mistakes …. Pretty dress – could you put a long sleeve on under it and wear with boots and tights for winter? Hmmm

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

