Skip to content

The Sith Coat

December 22, 2011
tags: , ,
by

This is my little sister’s Christmas present… and Hanukkah, and birthday, and maybe even next Christmas and Hanukkah. I mentioned I was making it before, but now it’s finally done!!! Thank G-d. It only took this long because the finishing details are the hardest to get excited about, otherwise it was an easy pattern.

The reason I decided to make it? I’m not really sure, maybe because my little sister (who we will now refer to as Pedro, by her request) is easier to please in the clothing department than my older sister and her style is more similar to mine so I was working on something I thought was cool. It was coincident that my September Burda magazine showed up in the mail the same day I got home from vacation to Montana with my family, when flipping though it Pedro said she really liked the duffle coat pattern. I picked the fabric and buttons (making it not actually a duffle coat to make life easier on me).

Pattern: BurdaStyle 113 9/2011

Pattern Description: Raglan sleeves with cuffs and patami performed below the shoulder of genuine suede. In duffle coat with hood jersey lining you will always be warm.

The above is how Google translated from the Russian website. This is how Google translated from the German site, I don’t know what this really means either: bet that the duffle coat is with homemade gag Porcvelours closures and sleeves for your favorite companion? Inside it is held with snaps on the sides, he gets big bags.

Pattern Sizing: 36-44, I made a 44

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? I thought they were pretty good considering how Burda instructions tend to be, but after the main construction was done I just finished things off my way without looking at the instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I’ll let Pedro take this one:

It makes me look like Darth Vader, so that’s always good. It will look even cooler with all my socks and Birkenstocks.

Yeah… ’cause that makes sense. Do you care that the sleeves aren’t full length?

No, because I have awesome arm warmers.

I’ll add also, about the pattern itself. The hood is ginormous and is supposedly one size fits all.

mmhmmm… hood.

The pattern went together nicely, but I got confused when cutting the front lining and separate sleeve pieces because you either cut the piece in half or trace it again, and I just cut the pieces up.

Fabric Used: 10% wool blend (can you believe that was the highest wool % I could find at Hancocks? Ya, me too) and knit interlock.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I didn’t make the sleeves in contrasting leather (or contrasting anything) and I didn’t use duffle coat closures, just some giant buttons.

Aren't these buttons cool?

Pedro: "Now I will look like a hipster!"

Would you sew it again? Doubt it, I’d have to trace it off again in my own size if I wanted one and there’s no way I’m making Pedro another one. I left the pattern with my mom, in case she ever wanted to make one since I’m not going to.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, it’s a good pattern that can be made up in a variety of different styles easily. Pedro’s rating: 9 out of 10.

~Molly and Pedro!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2011 7:21 am

    Nicely done! I love the sleeves- Pedro should be very pleased.

  2. December 22, 2011 8:31 am

    great job on the coat, and what an entertaining pattern review :-)
    glad it got the Pedro seal of approval & she’s obviously coming around to the idea of you having a blog if she’s participating & choosing aliases!!!

  3. December 22, 2011 6:45 pm

    This looks great! Glad that Pedro enjoys the coat! It’s super cute on her! I like the houndstooth lining!

  4. December 22, 2011 7:05 pm

    Such a snazzy looking coat on your sister! Such fun and adorable pictures of her!

  5. December 23, 2011 4:52 am

    Cool! And the Darth Vader comment made me laugh. I want one of those….

  6. December 23, 2011 7:28 pm

    Wow! This is completely awesome… and an equally awesome bear hat too, I might add!

  7. Claudette Eccleston permalink
    November 4, 2012 12:39 pm

    It’s great. I love your photos, they are really helpful. I was looking for reviews because I wanted to line the hood with lining instead of self fabric, (as the pattern instructions say); because of your pics, I’m going to do so.
    My 17 year old wants this in navy wool and I am going to start it this week if the fabric comes in time.

  8. Mary permalink
    August 5, 2013 9:32 pm

    vote for pedro

Trackbacks

  1. 2011′s Inspirational Makes – as chosen by you! | Seamless

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

