Skip to content

32 Degree Shorts

November 22, 2011

I’ve said before that I don’t tend to sew for the correct season and this is probably the most classic example: Shorts when there is 5 inches of snow on the ground and the temperature is at freezing. I’m not really into the style of “winter shorts” by wearing them with tights and boots, I think it looks a little weird and impractical. But these will definitely get plenty of wear in 6 months time!

It may be winter, but I'm wearing these comfortably right now. I really wish who ever living in the apartment below me would turn down their radiator a notch or two!

I’m planning on making more shorts as a way to test out the fit of some pants patterns and that was originally the idea with these too, but turns out they’re not something that would translate as well for me into full length pants. They’re super comfortable as shorts, but I like my pants to be snug around my butt and hips. I’d have to totally mess with the crotch length and shape to get these to fit like that. And besides, if I lengthened them, the cute scalloped hem wouldn’t be nearly as cool!

Pattern: No. 1102 Sweet Shorts by Pattern Runway

Pattern Description: Sweet and Sassy, these shorts sit on the waist with a centre front top stitched seam and a scalloped hem. Featuring welt pockets on the back and side front pockets to put your hands! An invisible zip in left side and an extra wide waistband. Hem curves up at the front and down at the back lengthening the leg.

Pattern Sizing: XXS-L, I cut a size S based on the measurements given and I think the fit is really good in the hips.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, the instructions were great. I did the waist band and zipper my own way though since I wasn’t going to bother putting an invisible zipper in to lounge shorts.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that they’re loose enough to lounge around in but not so loose that they look bad, in fact I think they look really cool with all the top stitching. And of course the unique curved hem is great. I don’t really like slant pockets much since they always bag out when you sit, but again, these are casual shorts so I don’t mind much.

Fabric Used:  Leftover cotton twill from my Halloween costume last year, there is actually two different shades of tan that I used. I had it in my head that I had cut the pieces out so that they would look two toned, but apparently I was too smart for my own good and the only pieces cut from the darker shade ended up being hidden inside like the pocket bad and hem facings. You can see the other color in the waist band.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I omitted the welt pockets, I don’t know how to make welt pockets and I don’t feel like learning at the moment, though I’m sure it wouldn’t be too bad. I also cut the waist band down quite a bit, if I hadn’t they would have been above my belly button because I’m petite. Not an attractive look in my opinion!

Would you sew it again? Maybe next year, I don’t wear shorts much as it is but these are pretty awesome.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes! Not only is it a great pattern, it’s an independent designer and it’s always fun to support the little guys. It is too bad the size range isn’t bigger though.

~Molly

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2011 3:25 am

    Nice shorts! I have never heard of Pattern Runway before, I love to try new designers. very cool!

  2. November 23, 2011 9:12 am

    I also have not seen the Pattern Runway line before. Thanks for the info. Your shorts are seriously cute!

  3. November 23, 2011 11:24 am

    how flattering is the scalloped hem!
    i got a dress pattern off Pattern Runway after going for a browse when you posted about these in construction. Now i’m looking forward to getting to work on it even more :-)

  4. November 23, 2011 12:29 pm

    Cute shorts! They look great with the top.

  5. November 25, 2011 9:44 am

    Love these, too and the fun scallop detail. I bought this pattern recently–when it was still ferociously hot in TX–and I’m still sewing summer stuff.

  6. November 28, 2011 6:08 pm

    Your first picture is so awesome.

    Love these! I’m not normally a shorts kind of girl but these look like something I’d be comfortable wearing. The scallop detail is really neat.

Trackbacks

  1. The Ice Top « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

