Skip to content

Massive Quantities of Gray Knit.

November 16, 2011
by

It seems like I never have enough long sleeved shirts and sweaters once winter comes along. And for some reason I’m drawn to gray alot in the winter, so now I feel like not only do I have tons of gray tops, but also way more gray fabric than I probably need. At least it’s utilitarian I guess. This one has been in my queue all summer but I just didn’t get to it then. I always like built on sleeves cause they’re so comfortable, but never tried it for a long sleeved item. The curve of the sleeve at the arm pit seems pretty low to me, but it’s still comfortable.

Pattern: Vogue 1071

Pattern Description: Pullover top or below mid-calf dress is fitted through the bust and has dolman sleeves and stitched hems. A: self-lined hood.

Pattern Sizing: A-J, bust 32-55 inches. I cut size A

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, with modifications

Were the instructions easy to follow? They seemed over complicated to me, it’s just a hoody after all. So I did things my own way. I sewed the shoulder/upper sleeve seams then attached the hood, sewed the side/under sleeve seams, and finally finished the edges with leftover strips of self fabric. It is the only commercial patter I’ve ever seen for a knit garment that actually showed the used of a zigzag stitch in the diagrams, which is how I always do it (with a walking foot to make it easier).

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that it’s simple and comfortable, I’m not sold on the low batwing/kimono sleeves, just something to get used to though. I would warn anyone with large biceps that the sleeves get a little tight around my upper arms and I don’t even consider myself to have large arms.

Fabric Used:  Gray knit jersey. Expect to see this fabric again some day, I have a ton more of it it seems.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I didn’t do any facings, just bound the neck to hood seam with a strip of fabric. I also extended the sleeves to full length and made them more straight instead of flared.

Would you sew it again? Probably not, I’d rather spend my time on different patterns.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, it’s a very nice pattern for a hoody (I don’t like the dress version much but that’s just me) and it comes in a really large range of sizes.

~Molly

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2011 12:43 pm

    It looks great! Was this a lined hood? Curious as to how you finished the inside edge of the hood. Did you use a bias strip?

  2. November 17, 2011 11:39 am

    i like it, looks particularly good in the last pic :-)
    what is up with the dress, i clicked through to have a look – low armholes and midcalf length – erm yea thats what every girl wishes for ;-P

  3. November 22, 2011 9:06 am

    Nice hoodie, and it is great to see this pattern made up. I have it in my queue and it keeps getting moved back. I will definitely make it now-probably in sweatshirt fleece as it is supposed to get into the teens (F) in a day or so.

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

