Skip to content

Fashion Dolls and Tiny Patterns

November 1, 2011
tags:
by

I’ve mentioned before that I love dolls and I recently reignited my obsession with them. So when I found Project Project Runway, I was really intrigued by all the different “fashion dolls” that the participants were using and started researching a little.

There is a whole online world for dolls of all kind – American Girls, Barbie, Blythe, and some very expensive fashion dolls that I haven’t quite figured out yet (seriously, who pays $200+ for a doll?). I like the more accessible doll options like Barbie still so I decided to go to Target one day just to see what they had and my mind was a little blown! I guess I haven’t looked down the toy isles in a while because they had a whole row labeled as “Collectable Dolls” with so many new brands I had either not seen before or had not seen in an actual store before – Barbie of course but also Bratz, Monster High, Liv, Moxie, BFC, the list goes on… And they were all around $30 or less.

...you can guess where this is going, right?

I was weak. I really really wanted a new doll that was more of a fashion doll than my American Girl doll. So I found the cheapest doll that was still cute and had a lot of joints for movement and posing which was this Liv Winter Formal Sophie doll (I’d rather had gotten the brunette doll but the blonde doll had better clothes and accessories, and glasses!). What is really cool is the wig comes off so you can change nearly everything about her and her eyes aren’t just painted on. As far as I can tell she is a similar sized body as Barbie so maybe I can dig out my old Barbie clothes from home and dress her in them and sew her some new clothes with Barbie patterns.

Spot was very interested. She tried to bite her little fingers off later on.

I have tons of ideas for new clothes, so I made a little basic bodice and skirt block for her. Doll clothes get more and more fiddly as they get smaller, but they’re so cute! Doll clothes are about as crafty as I get, so there you go. Anyways, here are pictures of Sophie in the paper pattern I used to draft, the shell made of fabric and a dress I made. The patterns all fit on one sheet of 8×11 paper so I think I’m going to scan them into pdfs at some point. I doubt many of you that regularly read my blog will want copies, but if you do let me know and I’ll post them.

Paper pattern shell. You can also see alot of her joints here, I love how she can move so much!

Basic shell made of fabric. This one is actually just taped to her in the back (tiny closures are the hardest).

This one could use a little work, but for a first try of a self drafted pattern, I think it's pretty good!

Spot was very helpful as you can see

~Molly

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2011 11:04 am

    This was a popular doll for Project Project Runway this year because of all her poses.The biggest issue with all of these dolls is the size of their heads!

  2. November 1, 2011 11:35 am

    OMG so cute. I want that final dress in my size. Now you can try on miniature versions of clothes you want to make but aren’t so sure of. And yes it is so cool how articulated she is, there’s no wierd “squelch” sound when you bend her joints like with Barbie. Ugh.

  3. November 1, 2011 11:36 am

    Also I prefer her with the pixie cut and glasses. Edgy, bordering on hipster.

  4. November 1, 2011 5:55 pm

    our Sophie doll is so cute, I love her glasses! I really want to make some Barbie clothes too, I even caved and bought myself a special Barbie last year (http://thecuriouskiwi.wordpress.com/2010/05/21/and-now-for-something-completely-different/) and I bought some vintage doll patterns and a book on drafting them too…must find more time ;)

  5. November 4, 2011 8:53 am

    I’m laughing that you made pattern blocks for a Liv doll. So funny. Great practice, though! And the dress turned out really cute. My mom lent me her stash of Barbie clothes patterns, which will mostly work for a Liv doll. I’ve noticed Liv has a smaller bust and slightly larger waist. Obviously the big head would make it hard to pull some things over the head, and her larger hands make it hard to fit her hands through tighter Barbie sleeves.

  6. Shelly permalink
    March 8, 2012 5:28 pm

    Please do the pdf I would love to try make these dresses.

    Thanks!

  7. Lynne permalink
    July 8, 2012 12:58 pm

    I would also like to try and make these dresses, please do the pdf

  8. katt556 permalink
    December 2, 2013 8:47 pm

    May I add my request for the PDF patterns for these outfits,pleezz lol,I really like them but they also have potential to modify too.As you can tell I too have a mild (ha ha) obsession with dolls ,Liv and Monster High being the latest.I love the poseability.

  9. May 2, 2014 11:17 am

    I know this is an old post, but I join Lynne and Shelly and katt556 in requesting the PDF of your blocks and patterns. My little Pedro has Livs and Barbies and I want to make them some classy, elegant dresses instead of the trashy outfits they come with.

  10. Chrystal permalink
    May 3, 2014 5:18 am

    I agree, please do the PDF.

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

