Skip to content

Old School Remix Blouse

October 17, 2011
by

Not much to say about this blouse. The cover art is horrible, but I love the pattern, a classic example of needing to only look at the technical drawings. This is one of the projects I included in my Fall Color Palette challenge. It took a while to sew even though it’s a really easy pattern because school is pretty crazy right now.

Pattern: Simplicity 5451 from 1982

Pattern Description: Button front shirt has extended shoulders and shawl collar. V. 1 has cuffs and notched detail on collar. V. 2 has wing shaped collar and cap sleeves with slits. V. 3 has shaped cap sleeves and picot edging.

Pattern Sizing: size 10

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except for the 80s styling of course.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, the instructions were great. Joining the front and back was a little tricky just because underside of the collar is the same piece as the front.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like how easy it is, both to make and to wear. It’s loose but has enough shape and interest to not look like a box. And there are three different collar variations that are all cool.

Fabric Used: Cotton swiss dot that is very light weight

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None

Would you sew it again? Yes, I’d like to try the other collars too.

Would you recommend it to others? Sure, if you can find it it’s a great pattern.

~Molly

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2011 8:19 am

    I love Swiss Dot so much, but in a print, I want to swoon!!!

    (and I’m pretty sure my mother had that pattern, complete déjà vu!)

  2. October 17, 2011 3:42 pm

    I love the extended sleeve. I think I remember oohing and ahhing over that swiss dot at the fabric store, too.

  3. October 18, 2011 2:28 am

    I read your blog almost from the beginning and I take a great pleasure! I love vintage sewing patterns almost some look really weird ( the 1980’s expecially).

  4. October 20, 2011 7:45 am

    Love that gorgeous shawl collar blouse pattern! And the extended almost-kimono sleeves are quite lovely :)

  5. October 20, 2011 11:18 am

    That’s not a pattern I would have given a second look, but I love how your blouse turned out! Great fabric, too.

Trackbacks

  1. Always A Good One « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

