Skip to content

New Boundaries Dress

September 8, 2011
tags: ,
by

Since my “curves” are not very pronounced I’ve wanted to try some different dress shapes that are more loose (or sack like). These dress shapes are also a little reminiscent of 60s fashion. I have a couple patterns like this one but never got up the nerve to actually make any, and I’m still not sure how much I’ll wear it. The neckline is just a little too low; I’ll probably only wear it with tights and an undershirt in the fall or winter. I’m trying to push my comfort boundaries as far as clothing goes.

Pattern: V1226 by Rebecca Taylor

Pattern Description: Loose-fitting, above mid-knee dress has dropped waist with blousing effect, side pockets, front bands, collars, front casing with elastic and self-ties, pleated sleeves with buttoned plackets, cuffs and stitched hem.

Pattern Sizing: 6-12, I cut a 10

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Mostly, except the model is much taller than me!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, though I’m not convinced that the dress on the cover was made exactly the same way or that that is how a designer would actually finish some of the seams inside.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the style and the collar is interesting (but I’m not sold on it yet, it looks more piratey than on the model). But the neckline is a little lower than I would like, I’d raise it by at least an inch if I was going to make it again.

Fabric Used: Rayon

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made it 1/2 an inch shorter just because I am shorter than what the pattern is made for.

Would you sew it again? No, it’s a pretty distinct design and I’d rather use my time to try other patterns.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes as far as the pattern drafting and instructions go, but it’s not a style that everyone likes.

~Molly

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 8:26 am

    Hi Molly, I love it when we coordinate reviews in PR!

    Hey, but you need to wear it with the waist tied up higher! Right now the waist falls way too low, wear it up girl!

  2. September 8, 2011 1:16 pm

    Great blog! I think I’ve bought some of the same patterns as you… and I really appreciate all of your reviews and photos (since I’ve yet to make any of the clothing…)

    Happy sewing!

  3. September 8, 2011 3:08 pm

    That’s a great dress! I think your neckline’s better than the one on the envelope photo. Yours looks like it has more body – maybe it’s a less drapey fabric? Got to love the long sleeves too.

  4. September 8, 2011 3:46 pm

    Your version looks so much better than the pattern envelope picture. It looks like it would be cool and comfortable – and useful in a couple of seasons, maybe with boots and tights?

  5. September 8, 2011 7:31 pm

    I think it would look awesome with tights and boots. I love that fabric, too! If that’s the same rayon I think it is, I have a little bit of it in my stash.

  6. September 8, 2011 10:44 pm

    I think this is really lovely and flattering on you, and I agree, a better result than the pattern envelope! The neckline is a very flattering shape!
    (and I’m really glad to see you out of those jeans :))

  7. September 9, 2011 2:43 am

    This dress is beautiful and it looks great on you. I agree that the pattern was drafted for someone a bit taller than you, so the fit would benefit from shortening of the sleeves and hem, and moving the self-tie waist up a bit, but overall, this is a gorgeous result!

  8. September 9, 2011 4:02 am

    I like your ruffliness better than the pattern cover- great fabric, too!

  9. September 11, 2011 5:40 am

    Lovely dress. Yours looks much better than the pattern envelope and your ruffle more ruffley.

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

