Skip to content

The Never Ending Coat

August 28, 2011
by

This coat has been a long time coming. And I’m glad it’s done, but I don’t know if sewing a thick wool coat was the best idea in this heat. It makes it worse that my sewing room is the hottest room in the apartment (that is the main reason I get to have a sewing room all to myself!). Needless to say, when I started sweating profusely I had to just put it all down and take a water break.

The hem is a little wonky, but just because I couldn't be bothered to slow down.

I first bought the fabric and notions for this coat nearly 2 years ago because I’ve hated the winter coat I’ve been using forever. I finally decided since I wasn’t doing anything this summer that I needed to just take the plunge and do it. I even did everything the way I’m supposed to instead of cutting corners like usual – interfacing everywhere, cotton batting underlining for extra warmth, even hand sewing the lining sleeve cap in place. It has tested my patients, but it’s worth it in the end. I won’t be getting cold this winter in subzero blizzards!

Pattern: B5145

Pattern Description: Lined, fitted coat in various lengths, has raised waistline with back princess seams and pleat, front button closing. A, C, D, E: side seam pockets. A, D, E: back tab. C, D, E: optional snaps at lower front opening. E: sleeve tabs.

Pattern Sizing: 8-14, I cut a 12 instead of my usual 10 to accommodate the batting underlining and other layers I’d be wearing underneath.

Nice deep pockets too!

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except for the changes I made.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s a simple stylish coat that I don’t think will go out of style anytime soon. The only thing that would have made it better is a hood, but I’m not complaining.

Fabric Used: Wool suiting, Super Waterproof and Breathable-Tex (2-ply) from Seattle Fabrics in purple, and cotton batting for the inner layer.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made it thicker with the cotton batting underlining; instead of buttons up the front I put in a zipper that goes all the way down to prevent wind from blowing the coat open; left off the back tab thing; used the collar from view E and the length of the coat in view A.

Would you sew it again? Probably not, at least not as a winter coat.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes it is really easy to sew and a great look.

~Molly

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2011 11:58 am

    Really nice! All that sticky apartment sewing will be totally worth it when you’re cozy and warm this winter!

  2. elizabeth permalink
    August 28, 2011 4:02 pm

    wow! this is adorable! what a great coat! i like the zipper–it makes it a bit more modern. excellent job.

  3. August 28, 2011 6:18 pm

    Oh, awesome! You’ll be so glad you made this in advance of winter. I’d love to make a proper winter coat. I have my Lady Grey coat but I consider it more of a dress coat. I need something I can throw on everyday.

  4. August 29, 2011 2:38 am

    Gorgeous! It might have been hot sticky work and tested you patience with the details, but it will be all worth it when your winter rolls around! I love the neutral grey colour.

  5. September 3, 2011 9:36 pm

    Beautifully done. It’s certainly a classic look and I like the fact that you used a zipper – very practical!

Trackbacks

  1. The Ice Top « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

