Skip to content

Jeans.

July 15, 2011
by

I haven’t had many new things to post here lately because I’ve been working on making my first pair of jeans. It wasn’t very hard but I procrastinated a lot because I’m not used to sewing pants. This pair is by no means perfect, which I’ll get to in the review, but I’m convinced this pattern is a good one and now that I’ve made this first pair and marked the pattern with changes I’m sure the second pair will be awesome. I’ll have to take a break from them though because I’ve got other things to sew right now (wedding dress muslin anyone?).

Ooooh! pictures taken outside, except I think I would have gotten better detail pictures inside... oh well.

These jeans are part of my Summer Essentials Sew Along, I have wanted to make some jeans since last fall when I realized that I should try to sew more of what I actually wear day to day – jeans and t-shirts. I’ve got the t-shirt thing down pat and can whip one up in 30 minutes if I really wanted to. But I’ve never made a pair of pants that I was really satisfied with. Again, I’m not completely satisfied with this first pair, but it’ll all work out in the next round.

Pattern: McCall’s 5894

Pattern Description: Misses’ and women’s jeans, straight or boot legged, below waist jeans have side front pockets with inside pocket, front fly zipper closure, back yoke, back pockets, waistband with button and buttonhole closure and belt carriers, narrow hemmed finishing on jean legs; tips for how-to-fit a flat derriere and eliminate baggy pants are also included.

Pattern Sizing: 8-16, I cut a 10 which fits my butt nicely but had to be taken in just about everywhere else. I like my jeans to be pretty tight on the thighs.

I'm pretty proud of how well the back fits

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, but I think I’ve got a shorter crotch length then the models because these jeans hit my belly button.

If you look really good you can see some of the issues in the front. I had to do some serious light manipulating to get the front visible, so sorry about that.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, the directions were very good – the reason I picked this pattern.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that this pattern is a very basic jeans pattern that you could add to if you wanted more fancy details and I liked all the detailed instructions. Of course they didn’t fit all that well as is. The legs of the pattern were basically wide legged on me and I took them in around the knee to make them flared. The waist band is also too short even after I had taken in the pants at least an inch at the top. They also sit just a little too high on me, but I plan on reducing the front crotch length next time so they will probably sit lower in front while staying high in back (so my unders don’t show when I sit!)

Fabric Used: Non-stretch light weight denim, a little too light weight though.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: All I really did this time was take in the legs, but I’ll be modifying the crotch next time as I said.

Would you sew it again? Yes, I have some heavier denim in my stash for them, but it’ll be a little while.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, if you’ve never made jeans before I think this is a very good starting point.

~Molly

P.S. – The U.S. women’s soccer team is in the world cup finals! Go U.S.A.!!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 9:02 am

    Wow, they look great! I’m terrified of making jeans. I should probably just jump in and do it. Did you use all the traditional hardware? I’ve always wondered about adding rivets and things.

    Those last two games were exciting to watch! U.S.A.! U.S.A.!

  2. July 15, 2011 11:10 pm

    They look terrific! I can see why you are so pleased with how they turned out! :)

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

