Skip to content

Hitting the Pavement Dress

June 21, 2011
tags: ,
by

The SewWeekly theme last week goes along with the Royal Ascot races in England, more specifically in honor of the race scene in My Fair Lady where everyone wore black and white costumes. The My Fair Lady film with Audrey Hepburn is one of my mom’s favorite movies so I watched it a lot growing up and it did always strike me as strange that everyone at the race track that day were able to coordinate (as if they had to come up with they’re outfits on their own and not given to them by the costumer, that’s how kids think about things like that though). I didn’t really plan this dress to go along with the theme, it just happened that I had cut it out and it was all ready to go!

Originally I wanted to name this dress something to the theme of a sci-fi dooms day dress because I think the print looks like the aftermath scene of a city in one of those futuristic apocalypse movies. But that’s kindof a downer, so instead the print also looks like worn and beaten up street pavement. 

 

It's kindof windy and rainy out so I didn't get many good outdoor pictures

We don’t have any horse races in my area that I know of (people are more interested in rodeos around here), instead I’ve gotten my bike fixed up (finally) and I’m hitting the pavement with it! This is a good dress for riding because of the A-line skirt. All in all I think the dress turned out very nice, the shoulder straps are a little smaller than I imagined they would be but they cover my bra straps so it’s ok. The only problems I encountered with the pattern is the neckline was very high so I lowered it and gaps a little all around, but not so much I can’t deal with it.

So I took some indoor pics also... Spot was really interested in all the smells

Pattern: BurdaStyle 108 5/2011

Fabric: Light weight cotton with the coolest print ever!

Pattern Description: A short dress reminiscent of ocean-color paintings of impressionists! Bell Skirt especially look good on tiny girls.

My description: A sleeveless, boat neck, princess line dress with lined bodice. Princess seams extend to the skirt, there are no side seams.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except I made the skirt length somewhere between the two options they recommend.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Sort of, I read the first couple bullet points to get an idea of how they wanted it put together and then just did it. No need to really look at the instructions when it’s a pretty simple design, for me at least.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Its really cute and fits really well mostly. The neck in front and back is gaping a little and you can see that it also gaps in the model photos so it wasn’t my sewing that did it. This time the gaping isn’t so bad that I would need to fix it in my opinion but for next time I will mark it on my pattern pieces.

Pattern Sizing: 17-21, I cut an 18.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I lowered the neckline by about 3 inches at the center front by trying it on and just eye balling where I wanted the final line to be and the length that I mentioned already.

Would you sew it again? Yes, I think it’s a basic enough dress that it could be made in a lot of different variations but it’s still a unique pattern because of the design lines.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, it fits really well but it is a petite pattern so anyone with a long torso might have to do some alterations.

Spot is like a baby and licks everything that comes near her, including me.

~Molly

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 2:47 pm

    I really like your photo composition! Oh and your cool fashions of course!

  2. June 21, 2011 4:17 pm

    O, I like it! A lot. Very nice material, fit and style. And I actually recognised the pattern from the style-lines (whoopee)!

  3. June 21, 2011 4:18 pm

    Love your dress!

  4. June 21, 2011 6:36 pm

    I loved this style when the magazine came out and you look great in your version. The fabric is indeed very cool. Now I need winter to end here in Australia so I can make one!

  5. June 21, 2011 11:30 pm

    That is a seriously cool print, and it looks so cute with the little tennis shoes! A very lovely cycling outfit!

  6. June 22, 2011 12:41 am

    Thanks for the review, this one has been on my to sew list for a while. Lovely fabric!

  7. June 22, 2011 8:02 am

    It looks so great! That print is awesome. It reminds me of when the tv goes fuzzy.
    I’m so glad to see this dress made up. I really liked it in the magazine, although I have a long torso so it would be some work. There was a longer version in the mag, too. I can’t remember if it was petite sizing as well.

  8. June 22, 2011 8:33 am

    This is nice! I might add it to my list of dresses to make. Thanks for the thorough review.

  9. June 24, 2011 3:36 am

    This is the first time I’ve seen this dress made up. You’ve done a great job. It’s really cute and looks a lot more wearable than I would have thought when I saw it in Burda.

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

