Skip to content

Digital Swirl Skirt

June 6, 2011
tags: ,
by

Sorry for that little hiatus, it took me a little while to get back into sewing after the weekend visit to home. I have to drive about 8 hours from Rapid City, SD to Lincoln, NE so it always wipes me out once I get back here. At least it was good weather all the way. To top it off, when I got home it really started to feel like summer here, 80 degrees F and up and it’s still flooding all along the Missouri river. My boyfriends parents live in Pierre, SD where it’s flooding really  bad near the river. Oahe dam is right next to Pierre, the largest earthen dam in the country, and they’re letting out record amounts of water from behind it on the scale of 130,000 cfs (cubic feet per second), they expected to increase that later this month.

Water being released from Oahe dam

National Guard that was scheduled to deploy to the Middle East, instead they were called home to build levees

Anyways, so I’ve made a new skirt. I made this pattern once previously and really liked the shape, but it was really high and tight and short. It’s supposed to be like that I’m sure because it’s a designer pattern, but not so good for me if I want to wear it during the day instead of for a cute going out skirt. So I bought the pattern again in the larger size range and made a 12 (I always make size 10), I was worried that going up a size would made all the seaming on the back look bad but it turned out fine and I really like this version. I also made it in a heavier fabric this time around making the mitered corners in the front easier, though the skirt doesn’t have quite as lovely of a drape.

The print looks like a digitized swirly pattern

For reference, here is the first version I made out of some drapey, shiny polyester. It's a really great going-out-with-the-girls skirt

Pattern: V1170 by Rachel Comey, skirt only

Fabric: Printed cotton pique I think

Pattern Description: Flared skirt, has front and back seam details, back invisible zipper closing and wide waistband.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, even easier the second time around.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the style lines and the flair making it halfway a fitted skirt and halfway a flirty circle skirt. The waist band doesn’t fit very well right now though (I’m going to adjust the location of the hook and eyes) because it doesn’t sit on my actual waist anymore since I made the bigger size and the band is just one long straight rectangle.

Pattern Sizing: 12-18, I made a 12. I think the sizing runs small on this pattern, hence why I made a second one in a larger size.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I skipped the pockets, they’re really pointless because of how small they are, you wouldn’t even be able to put your hand all the way into them. I also forgot to put interfacing on the waistband which I regret a little.

Would you sew it again? No, because I already have!

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, it’s a little bit complicated but a great skirt.

~Molly

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 1:38 pm

    Cute! The print reminds me of a Greek key. I was just thinking about making myself a swing-y little skirt…

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

