Skip to content

Blue Dutch Dress

May 27, 2011
by

Almost immediately after finding out about My/Image patterns from the Netherlands I had to get my hands on a copy, which meant buying from them directly at the time (Sew Baby is now the US dealer). They’ve now come out with two issues and a pattern magazine for young girls called Young/Image. This dress is my all time favorite out of the two issues, but there are lots of good designs that I want to make at some point. I was a little afraid of what size to make, the My/Image sizes are similar to Burda but not quite the same, it ended up fine in the end just using the same size as I do with Burda.

I loved the solid teal version of this dress in the magazine so much I wanted to copy it as close as I could, prints are great but I am way more likely to wear a solid colored dress.

Ya for big pockets!

Pattern: My/Image Dress 1113 from Spring/Summer 2011

Fabric: Blue cotton sateen

Pattern Description: N/A

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? It looks exactly like the model photo, but the drawing is ever so slightly off, not enough to matter though.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were ok, a little less sparse then Burda instructions normally are, but I can’t say they were all that great. I think one of my main issues with the instructions was how cramped and tiny the printing was, the translation into English wasn’t bad.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the style, for some reason I love boxy double breasted styles, and that there aren’t any closures. The elastic in the waist band is really the only thing giving the dress any shape. All this makes it really comfortable. When I was trying to think what fabric to use I really just wanted to copy the solid colored dress in the magazine exactly because I loved it, and when I found this solid blue sateen at my regular fabric store it was perfect. I need to use cotton sateen more often because it’s amazing, just the right weight, easy to sew, and pretty!

Pattern Sizing: 36-44, I traced a 36, the same as I do for dresses and tops with Burda

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I could not for the life of me find the pattern piece or dimensions for the waist band (piece A), so I just cut some long strips that would be wide enough for 1 inch elastic after being sewn. I also fudged the waist band instructions a little because they didn’t make sense to me.

Would you sew it again? Probably, I really like it, but I’d be wary of having too many of these dresses because it is a unique design. It would be a great LBD though.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes! I can’t wait to make another design from My/Image

~Molly

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2011 9:13 am

    cute!! i like it. You are so ready for summer

  2. May 27, 2011 12:34 pm

    Super cute! Fantastic color! Love it! (hum, enthousiastic, non?)

  3. May 28, 2011 6:02 am

    Great dress! I want t make a few of the dresses in this issue. I need to just do it! Love the color of your fabric.

  4. May 28, 2011 9:55 am

    I love this. It has kind of a retro vibe to it. I love the blue, too.

  5. May 28, 2011 11:09 am

    This is really cute and works perfectly in a solid colour to show off the shape and details.

  6. May 28, 2011 3:12 pm

    Cute! A perfect little daydress!

  7. May 29, 2011 3:48 am

    It is gorgeous! And you were so right to pick out a solid colour!

  8. June 5, 2011 10:43 pm

    Very cute! This is one of the patterns I want to make from the magazine….your dress gives me some motivation to do it.

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

