Skip to content

Seeing Maroon Dress

May 23, 2011
by

This is another dress pattern that has sat in the back of my mind for quite a while. I had attempted to make it once previously last year, but the knit fabric I picked refused to be sewn by my machine. I tried everything I could to get it to work, adjusting the tension, trying different stitches and stitch length, nothing worked so I just gave up and threw it away. But it wasn’t the pattern’s fault so I kept it, waiting for a better fabric to come along. And let me say it is definitely a keeper this time around, sooo comfortable! There is elastic in the shoulders and waistband so it makes the dress feel very secure while still allowing for the comfort and mobility of a knit dress. I was worried half way through making it that the elastic would look obvious or the overlapped front would be too low, but I think it all worked out great.

I got my boyfriend to take pictures of the dress out side our apartment building next to this really beautiful tree with flowers the same color as my dress. Only problem with him taking pictures is he would never tell me when he was taking it, so they didn't turn out all that great.

Pattern: McCall’s 6070

Fabric: Maroon cotton jersey, t-shirt weight.

Pattern Description: Pullover, sleeveless dresses A, B have back ties embellished with beads, elastic casings at shoulder and midriff; dress A has mid-knee length.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, my ties look a little thicker but that just because I didn’t care for their directions on that issue.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, I should have followed them more closely or I wouldn’t have had to reinsert the waist elastic twice.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like how casual and flattering it is, I don’t really think the pictures do it justice (or that might just be my terrible modeling skills), and it’s so incredibly comfortable. Knit dresses aren’t always at the top of my list because they don’t always feel very secure on me (not that I have much to secure ;) but with the elastic, as I said above, this dress isn’t going anywhere.

Pattern Sizing: 6-14, I cut a size 10.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: The only change I made was the way I made my ties for the back. The instuctions want you to sew them inside out then turn them, which is fine normally but not so easy with a knit fabric. so I just folded them up like bias tape and sewed it shut. My ties also look a little big just because somehow I lost the pattern piece for the ties so I just improvised and cut out some long rectangles, next time i’ll cut them thinner.

(Spot looks like she has robot eyes in this picture lol!)

Would you sew it again? Yes

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I can imagine this looking good on a lot of different figures and it’s super easy, only one side of one sheet of instructions!

~Molly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie g permalink
    May 23, 2011 6:31 am

    Nice to see you face the camera! Lovely dress.

Trackbacks

  1. The Long Run Top « Toferet's Empty Bobbin

So, what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

